The Swamp Boogie Queen (Live)

The Swamp Boogie Queen (Live)


1. Got My Mojo Workin' (Live) (Sample Track)

2. I Want You to Love Me (Live) (Sample Track)

3. Katie's Boogie (Live) (Sample Track)

4. I'm Bad (Live) (Sample Track)

5. Basin Street Blues (Live) (Sample Track)

6. Two Fisted Mama (Live) (Sample Track)

7. So Far Away (Live) (Sample Track)

8. Hobo Blues / Boogie Chillen (Live) (Sample Track)

9. Sea of Love (Live) (Sample Track)

10. Honest I Do (Live) (Sample Track)

11. I Can't Give You Anything but Love (Live) (Sample Track)

12. Lord I Wonder (Live) (Sample Track)

13. Sittin' on the Dock of the Bay (Live) (Sample Track)

14. Spiritual Medley: Precious Lord Take My Hand / Swing Low Sweet Chariot / Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen / Down by the Riverside (Live) (Sample Track)

15. It's Good to See You (Live) (Sample Track)

16. Try a Little Tenderness (Live) (Sample Track)

Available On

About Album

“So here I am now, making you happy, which makes me the happiest person in the world”, Katie shouts and attacks the piano.
And that’s what Katie was made for, making people happy.
A gracious entertainer and a warm human being, spreading love and happiness.
Born Kathryn Jewel Thorne on January 11, 1936 in Houston, Texas she passed on September 9, 1999, playing and recording with a wide range of musicians and record labels.
After Guitar Junior (Lonnie Brooks), Slim Harpo, Lazy Lester, Lightnin’ Slim, and Clifton Chenier during the 50’s and 60’s, she became a member of Otis Redding band, touring and recording with him from 1964 until her pregnancy on 1967, although her name is not credited on his albums.
Staying quite for a decade she returned in music on the early 80’s touring Europe for the first time.
Europe established her name with a bunch of recordings and over 30 tours and Katie started to be recognised as well as in USA’s market, dragging the attention of Alligator records that eventually gave her the recognition she reserved.
I met and tour with her in 1988 and had the pleasure and honor to become a close friend.
She nicknamed me Johnny Angel as if she was knew that I would be there when she had the stroke on stage in 1993.
This album is a debt to her loving memory.


John “Johnny Angel” Angelatos

Most of you know Katie Webster the two fisted piano pounding soul singing Swamp Boogie Queen. She was all that, and much much more. She was my musical mother on stage, and in the studio. She was a loving family member who would come stay with my family in Mississippi frequently when were not touring. I meet Katie through the recommendation of Tony Coleman, and Russell Jackson. I flew to San Francisco and Katie her sister Myrtle had cooked a down home Louisiana fest, and make me feel right at home. After dinner we went to piano, and Katie started putting me through the paces with swamp pop, boogie woogie, juke joint blues, Memphis soul, jazz standards, and gospel jems. She would smile, and go from song to song. Then, she gave me a list of two hundred songs, and said she would choose from the list to play at Bumpbershoot Festival that weekend in Seattle, Washington. That was my introduction Momma Kat. When we arrive in Seattle she reduced the list to thirty songs that she selects from for the concert. We performed twelve. Katie liked my voice, and insisted that I sing with on “Love Deluxe” on her Two Fisted Mama CD. She became God Mother to my youngest son (Keisean Jackson) and loved teaching him to play her style of piano. We had great times touring the world, and recording great music. But, my fondest memories is seeing Katie in the kitchen cooking her famous gumbo, telling jokes, singing, and just being Mama Kat. Thank you, Katie. You remain in our hearts, and your music is in our soul.

Vasti Jackson

1- Mojo Workin’ (3.10)
2- I Want You To Love Me (4.49)
3- Katie’s Boogie (4.15)
4- I’m Bad (4.53)
5- Basin Street Blues (4.20)
6- Two Fisted Mama (4.15)
7- So Far Away (7.35)
8- Hobo Blues / Boogie Chillin’ (6.00)
9- Sea Of Love (3.40)
10- Honest I Do (4.10)
11- I Can’t Give You Anything But Love (4.10)
12- Lord I Wonder (4.19)
13- Sittin’ On The Dock Of The Bay (3.15)
14- Spiritual Medley (Precious Lord / Swing Low Sweet Chariot / Nobody Knows The Trouble I’ve Seen /Down By the Riverside) (7.10)
15- It’s Good To See You (3.00)
16- Try A Little Tenderness (8.40)

Artist: Katie Webster

Labels: Solo Artist, Solo Female Artist

Release Date: October 11, 2016

People: Katie Webster