Al Blake’s XXL Bag of Blues, Vol. 1

Al Blake's XXL Bag of Blues


1. Leavin California (Sample Track)

2. Black Cat Bone (Sample Track)

3. Hoppin Toad (Sample Track)

4. Youre Sweet (Sample Track)

5. Lemon Squeezer (Sample Track)

6. Santa Fe Whistle Blues (Sample Track)

7. Lulu (Sample Track)

8. Gone Away (Sample Track)

9. Slow Down (Sample Track)

10. When The Breath Bids The Body Goodbye (Sample Track)

11. My Little Machine (Sample Track)

12. Things Bout Coming My Way (Sample Track)

13. Music Man (Sample Track)

14. Cow Cows Boogie (Sample Track)

15. Rocky Mountain Blues (Sample Track)

16. My Resting Place (Sample Track)

17. Blues For Walter Davis (Sample Track)

18. Big Fat Mama (Sample Track)

19. Its Too Bad (Sample Track)

20. King Bee (Sample Track)

21. Old Time Boogie (Sample Track)

22. Rocky Mountain Blues Alt Take (Sample Track)

23. Sweet Pea (Sample Track)

24. A Good Grind (Sample Track)

25. City Of Angels (Sample Track)

26. Music Man Alt Take (Sample Track)

27. Waltz For Armede Ardoin (Sample Track)

28. Precious Time (Sample Track)

29. Bugle Call (Sample Track)

Available On

About Album

“Old School” Acoustic Country Blues of 1920’S-1950’S styles.


“Al Blake’s XXL Bag of Blues–Volume 1” is a 2 CD, 29 track retrospective collection of Blake’s acoustic recordings over the past 20+ years. It features Blake (Hollywood Fats Band) singing, playing guitar and harmonica, joined by blues pianist Fred Kaplan (Hollywood Fats Band), with blues harmonica master Kim Wilson (Fabulous Thunderbirds) on several tracks and country blues guitarist Nathan James on one tune. Of the 29 tracks, 15 are originals and 26 of the tracks are previously unreleased commercially. This outstanding album is certain to remind listeners why they fell in love with blues in the first place. This record is 100% organic; no artificial additives, watered down fillers. Definitely NOT pre-frozen, assembly-line, drive thru McSlop. This CD serves-up a Super-Size portion of exquisite, authentic 5-star Blues Cuisine that every Blues connoisseur will enjoy and want to come back for seconds!

Artist: Al Blake

Label: Acoustic

Release Date: August 26, 2019

People: Al Blake, Fred Kaplan, Kim Wilson, Nathan James